Lexus Design Award 2022: now open for entries

The Lexus Design Award 2022 competition is now open for entries. They can be submitted online from today, 13 July, through to the closing date, 10 October 2021.

This prestigious international design competition was launched in 2013 to nurture and support the next generation of creators. Each year it attracts thousands of entries from around the globe. Now in its 10th year, the Lexus Design Award continues to evolve as a platform for design innovation that leads to a better tomorrow.

Click here for full details on how to take part in the Lexus Design Award 2022

Entrants need to demonstrate how their creative ideas express three key principles of the Lexus brand: anticipate, innovate and captivate.

Their design should anticipate global challenges facing future society. Entrants to the Lexus Design Award 2022 must imagine engaging and innovative ways to contribute to a sustainable and happy future for all. Lexus is looking for captivating designs that intersect with thoughtful solutions and can truly make a brighter future for people and societies in diverse circumstances.

Lexus Design Award 2022

An elite judging committee will review the entries, choosing six finalists to be announced in early 2022. These finalists will have the opportunity to liaise with four internationally renowned creators, who will provide them with a once-in-a-lifetime learning and mentoring experience. Personal guidance from these mentors of varied backgrounds and specialisms will help the finalists to build prototypes that bring out the potential of their ideas.

The finalists’ prototype development will be funded by Lexus with a budget of up to three million yen (about £20,000) per finalist. In spring 2022, the six finalists will present their final proposals to the judges, who will then select one Grand Prix winner.

Lexus Design Award 2022

Lexus will announce the names of the Lexus Design Award 2022 judging committee members and mentors later this year.

Read more: Lexus Design Award 2021 finalists revealed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *